People


Paul Bouman

Assistant Professor
E-mail: bouman@ese.eur.nl

Thomas Breugem

PhD Student
E-mail: breugem@ese.eur.nl 

Naut Bulten

PhD Student
E-mail: bulten@ese.eur.nl 

Twan Dollevoet

Associate Professor
E-mail: dollevoet@ese.eur.nl 

Gert-Jaap Polinder

PhD Student
E-mail: polinder@rsm.nl

Marie Schmidt

Assistant Professor
E-mail: schmidt2@rsm.nl

Shadi Sharif Azadeh

Assistant Professor
E-mail: sharifazadeh@ese.eur.nl

Visiting Members


    • Chongshuang Chen (November 15, 2016 - November 30, 2017)
    • Pei Liu (November 1, 2016 - April 30, 2017)
    • Yuan Gao (September 1, 2015 - August 31, 2016)

Former Members


  • Joris Wagenaar (finished his PhD on "Practice Oriented Algorithmic Disruption Management in Passenger Railways" in September 2016, moved to UvT)
  • Leo Kroon - In Memoriam: Leo Kroon passed away on September 14, 2016.
  • Evelien van der Hurk (finished her PhD on "Passengers, Information, and Disruptions" in June 2015, moved to DTU)
  • Luuk Veelenturf (finished his PhD on "Disruption Management in Passenger Railways: Models for Timetable, Rolling Stock and Crew Rescheduling" in November 2014, moved to TU/e)
  • Gabor Maroti (worked at Rotterdam School of Management until October 2011, moved to Netherlands Railways)
  • Lars Kjaer Nielsen (finished his PhD on "Rolling Stoch Rescheduling in Passenger Railways" in February 2011, moved to Quintiq)
  • Daniel Potthoff (finished his PhD on "Railway Crew Rescheduling" in October 2010, moved to Ab Ovo)
  • Gabriella Budai (finished her PhD on "Operations Research Models for Scheduling Railway Infrastructure Maintenance" in June 2009)
  • Ramon Lentink (finished his PhD on "Algorithmic Decision Support for Shunt Planning" in February 2006, moved to ORTEC and later to Netherlands Railways)
  • Michiel Vromans (finished his PhD on "Reliability of Railway Systems" in July 2005, moved to ProRail)
  • Leon Peeters (finished his PhD on "Cyclic Railway Timetable Optimization" in June 2003, moved to Institute of Theoretical Computer Science, ETH Zurich)
  • Richard Freling - In Memoriam: Richard Freling passed away on January 29, 2002.