CEPR Conference: The Politics of Regulation and Central Banking


This is the first edition of an annual conference series on the Political Economy of Finance. Three leading Dutch universities – Erasmus University Rotterdam, Tilburg University, and the University of Amsterdam – will host the annual event in order to build a European platform for researchers in this highly topical area, usually treated separately in economics and finance. For its first edition, the online conference will be dedicated to exploring the intersections between political economy and central banking.

The academic programme (see the link below) consists of six papers and also features a keynote lecture by Francesco Trebbi (Berkeley Haas and CEPR).


Organising committee:

  • Thomas Lambert (Erasmus University Rotterdam)
  • Enrico Perotti (University of Amsterdam and CEPR)
  • Magdalena Rola-Janicka (Tilburg University)

Programme committee:

  • Dana Foarta (Stanford GSB)
  • Hans Gersbach (ETH Zurich and CEPR)
  • Deniz Igan (International Monetary Fund)
  • Frederic Malherbe (University College London and CEPR)
  • Kris James Mitchener (Santa Clara University and CEPR)
  • Enrico Perotti (University of Amsterdam and CEPR)
  • Alessandro Riboni (Ecole Polytechnique and CEPR)
  • Martin Schmalz (University of Oxford and CEPR)
  • Vikrant Vig (London Business School and CEPR)
  • Paolo Volpin (City University London and CEPR)

To register your attendance, please visit https://portal.cepr.org/cepr-conference-politics-regulation-and-central-banking. Joining instructions will be circulated closer to the time. The programme is available here.

If you have any difficulties registering for this meeting, please contact Mandy Chan at mchan@cepr.org for assistance (with subject header “CEPR Conference The Politics of Regulation and Central Banking”).

Further information:

The conference will be held online. The conference is scheduled on Friday 12 February 2021.

Information regarding the conference can be sought on the conference website and in case of questions please contact the organising committee at poleconfin@rsm.nl.